Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Kool G Rap - Riches, Royalty & Respect | First Peek

Kool G Rap - Riches, Royalty & Respect

CD & Vinyl
Release Date: May 31, 2011
Label: Fat Beats Records

I guarantee this record will not be leaving my rotation for a while long time. It's that good.

From Fat Beats:
Kool G Rap is arguably the most influential rapper in the history of hip hop. Artists of the caliber of Eminem, Jay-Z, Nas, Notorious B.I.G., Bun B, Pharoahe Monche and Big Pun have all cited Kool G Rap as being a major musical influence. G Rap was also a member of Marley Marl's legendary Juice Crew whose members include Big Daddy Kane, Biz Markie, and Roxanne Shante. His career began with fellow Queens, NY native DJ and producer DJ Polo Polo. Together they released their highly influential debut album "Road to the Riches" on the legendary Cold Chillin' Records. Two subsequent and also influential Kool G Rap & DJ Polo albums were released, titled "Wanted Dead or Alive" and "Live and Let Die." G Rap's first solo release "4,5,6" was released via Cold Chillin' in 1994 to critical acclaim. His second solo effort was also released via Cold Chillin', "Roots of Evil." His third album was recorded under the auspices of Rawkus Records but was actually released via Koch Records to critical acclaim. Kool G Rap is now set to release his fifth solo album, "Riches, Royalty, Respect" via Fat Beats Records. "Riches, Royalty, Respect" has G Rap doing what he does best, namely narrating gritty street tales using his multi-syllabic rhyme style.
Tracklisting + Preview Tracks + Full Album Snippets:
1. Pimptro
2. Ya Chic Chose Me
3. In Too Deep (feat. Heather Walker)
4. 70s Gangsta
5. Pillow Talk
6. The Meaning to Your Love
7. Sad
8. Maggie
9. $ Ova Bitches
10. G On
11. Pages of My Life
12. Going In
13. American Nightmare (feat. Havoc)
14. Da Real Thing (feat. Heather Walker)
15. Harmony Homicide

1.17.2012 Update:

In Too Deep from Ivan on Vimeo.