Thursday, October 29, 2020

The Tape Deck #468

Thursday, October 22, 2020

The Tape Deck #467

Friday, September 18, 2020

Roc Marciano + Griselda + Freddie Gibbs + Black Thought

Tuesday, September 1, 2020

The Tape Deck #465 a.k.a. Samples & Examples #3

Friday, August 14, 2020

Snoop Dogg - "Nipsey Blue" | Sample & Example

Happy (early) birthday, Nip

Saturday, August 1, 2020

OB4CL 25th Anniversary Re-Up Post

Only Built 4 Cuban Linx: Movie Samples from Ivan on Vimeo.

...and while you're at it, go grab this wax from Get On Down:

Wednesday, July 22, 2020

Yo! P-Funk Raps #2

Monday, June 29, 2020

Insomniacs Club: Public Enemy, Ka, Blu & Exile, Aminé, Kemba, Dinner Party, Killah Priest & More

via BasketballForever 😂

Way, way back in the early days of HHIR (2007) - back in my college days, when I had way more energy and also more time to work on the blog lol - I used to stay up a lot. And I had this feature called Insomniacs Club ("rap insomniac, I don't know how to act"), dedicated to sharing music videos, mainly throwback 90s stuff. I've been neglecting catching up with rap videos, and I felt like it was time to jump back into that. So... Insomniacs Club is back. (And now... with GIFs!) Hit the comments if you've got something you'd like to share, too. Peace.


Public Enemy - "State of the Union (STFU)" w/DJ Premier (2020)

Blu & Exile – "Miles Davis" (2020)

AminĂ© – "Riri" (2020)

Kemba - "6 Million Ways" (2020)

Anderson .Paak - "Lockdown" w/Jay Rock (2020)

Buddy & Kent Jamz – "Bad Boys" (2020)

Killah Priest - "Grandmother's Land" (2020)

Ka - "Solitude of Enoch" (2020)

Rome Streetz - "The Ugliest" (2020)

Dinner Party (Terrace Martin, Robert Glasper, Kamasi Washington & 9th Wonder) - "Freeze Tag" (2020)